1-08 Hoop Shoot

Elks Hoop Shoot winners included Lilly McLain, l-r, Emery Johnson, Carter Johnson, Jesus Villalobos, Raven McLain, and Miles Maxwell.

For over 50 years the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks organization has hosted an annual Hoop Shoot contest across the country, encouraging kids to exercise and showcase growing basketball skills.

The names of the winners of the national competition are enshrined in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, but the first steps made towards nationals begin with local and regional competitions. The annual Lakeview-area free throw competition was held at Honker Court at Lakeview High School on Friday, Jan. 3.

Kids from across the region competed in different age groups, 8-9, 10-11, 12-13, in both boys and girls categories, scored on number of successful free throws shot. Winners of each section will go to the Districts, to be held in Prineville on Saturday, Jan. 18.

After Friday’s competition, representing Lakeview will be Lilly McLain, 8-9 girl, Carter Johnson, 8-9 boy, Jesus Villalobos, 10-11 boy, Emery Johnson, 10-11 girl, Raven McLain, 12-13 girl, and Miles Maxwell, 12-13 boy.

If they win at Districts they will move onto the state championships, held on Feb. 8 in Silverton. National competition will be held on April 18 in Chicago, Ill.

Lakeview in the past has been well represented at the national competition. Current Lakeview High School senior Jalen Lampman was the national winner of the Elks Hoop Shoot at age nine in 2012.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.